Development of Urban Adaptation Plans for cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants in Poland

44 Polish cities, in cooperation with the Ministry of the Environment, participate in the project aimed at adapting them to the observed and prognosed climate changes.

Learn more about the project

Cities - project's partners

Choose a city

Białystok

Number of residents: 294 675

Contact

Ewa Kułakowska

Head of City Adaptation Team

ekulakowska@um.bialystok.pl

Krzystof Skotak

Head of Experts’ Team 

krzysztof.skotak@ios.edu.pl

Ewa Kułakowska

Promotion in the city

ekulakowska@um.bialystok.pl

Bielsko-Biała

Number of residents: 172 407

Contact

Przemysław Kamiński

Head of City Adaptation Team

ochrona.srodowiska@um.bielsko.pl

Katarzyna Kobiela

Head of Experts’Team

katarzyna.kobiela@arcadis.com

Tomasz Ficoń

Promotion in the city

tficon@bielsko-biala.pl

Bydgoszcz

Number of residents: 354 990

Contact

Aleksandra Kowalska

Head of City Adaptation Team

aleksandra.kowalska@um.bydgoszcz.pl

Joanna Walewska

Head of Experts’ Team 

joanna.walewska@arcadis.com

Agnieszka Przybył

Promotion in the city

agnieszka.przybyl@um.bydgoszcz.pl

Bytom

Number of residents: 170 059

Contact

Marek Przepióra

Head of City Adaptation Team

mprzepiora@um.bytom.pl

Joachim Bronder

Head of Experts’ Team 

bron@ietu.katowice.pl

Anna Krzyszkowska-Kuc

Promotion in the city

akrzyszkowska@um.bytom.pl

Chorzów

Number of residents: 109 541

Contact

Leonard Hornik

Head of City Adaptation Team

hornik_l@chorzow.eu

Janina Fudała

Head of Experts’ Team 

jfudala@ietu.katowice.pl

Agata Beryt

Promotion in the city

beryt_a@chorzow.eu

Czeladź

Number of residents: 32 225

Contact

Małgorzata Skiba

Head of City Adaptation Team

mskiba@um.czeladz.pl

Tadeusz Bawolski

Head of Experts’Team

tadeusz.bawolski@arcadis.com

Tomasz Michałek

Promotion in the city

biuro.prasowe@um.czeladz.pl

Częstochowa

Number of residents: 227 270

Contact

Andrzej Szczerba

Head of City Adaptation Team

aszczerba@czestochowa.um.gov.pl

Agnieszka Dyndał

Head of Experts’Team

agnieszka.dyndal@arcadis.com

Włodzimierz Tutaj

Promotion in the city

biuroprasowe@czestochowa.um.gov.pl

Dąbrowa Górnicza

Number of residents: 122 451

Contact

Barbara Lubasz

Head of City Adaptation Team

blubasz@dabrowa-gornicza.pl

Ewa Strzelecka-Jastrząb

Head of Experts’ Team 

strzelec@ietu.katowice.pl

Bartosz Matylewicz

Promotion in the city

bmatylewicz@dabrowa-gornicza.pl

Elbląg

Number of residents: 121 412

Contact

Bożena Jolanta Warzecha

Head of City Adaptation Team

ros@umelblag.pl

Beata Kowalska

Head of Experts’ Team

beata.kowalska@imgw.pl

Beata Kowalska

Promotion in the city

beata.kowalska@imgw.pl

Gdańsk

Number of residents: 462 996

Contact

Marcin Dawidowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

marcin.dawidowski@gdansk.gda.pl

Halina Burakowska

Head of Experts’ Team

halina.burakowska@imgw.pl

Halina Burakowska

Promotion in the city

halina.burakowska@imgw.pl

Gdynia

Number of residents: 247 329

Contact

Bartosz Frankowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

wydz.srodowiska@gdynia.pl

Alicja Kańska

Head of Experts’ Team 

alicja.kanska@imgw.pl

Alicja Kańska

Promotion in the city

alicja.kanska@imgw.pl

Gliwice

Number of residents: 182 969

Contact

Roksana Burzak

Head of City Adaptation Team

burzak_r@um.gliwice.pl

Magdalena Polus

Head of Experts’Team

magdalena.polus@arcadis.com

Marek Jarzębowski

Promotion in the city

rzecznik@um.gliwice.pl

Gorzów Wielkopolski

Number of residents: 123 911

Contact

Jan Sobczyński

Head of City Adaptation Team

sobczynski@um.gorzow.pl

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team 

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Ewa Sadowska-Cieślak

Promotion in the city

rzecznik.prasowy@um.gorzow.pl

Grudziądz

Number of residents: 96 111

Contact

Maja Banasik

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.banasik@um.grudziadz.pl

Joanna Walewska

Head of Experts’ Team 

joanna.walewska@arcadis.com

Małgorzata Sadowska- Rodziewicz

Promotion in the city

m.rodziewicz@um.grudziadz.pl

Jaworzno

Number of residents: 92 618

Contact

Tomasz Bachowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

tomasz.bachowski@um.jaworzno.pl

Tadeusz Bawolski

Head of Experts’Team

tadeusz.bawolski@arcadis.com

Katarzyna Florek

Promotion in the city

katarzyna.florek@um.jaworzno.pl

Kalisz

Number of residents: 102 575

Contact

kkoscielak@um.kalisz.pl

Head of City Adaptation Team

Kamila Czyżak-Kościelak

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team 

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Elżbieta Zmarzła

Promotion in the city

ezmarzla@um.kalisz.pl

Katowice

Number of residents: 299 012

Contact

Barbara Lampart

Head of City Adaptation Team

barbara.lampart@katowice.eu

Piotr Cofałka

Head of Experts’ Team 

p.cofalka@ietu.pl

Ewa Biskupska

Promotion in the city

ewa.biskupska@katowice.eu, p@katowice.eu

Kielce

Number of residents: 197 724

Contact

Adam Rogaliński

Head of City Adaptation Team

adam.rogalinski@um.kielce.pl

Agnieszka Kuśmierz

Head of Experts’ Team 

agnieszka.kusmierz@ios.edu.pl

Agnieszka Krzysiek

Promotion in the city

agnieszka.krzysiek@um.kielce.pl

Kraków

Number of residents: 759 131

Contact

Andrzej Łazęcki

Head of City Adaptation Team

andrzej.Lazecki@um.krakow.pl

Jolanta Olbracht

Head of Experts’Team

jolanta.olbracht@arcadis.com

Dariusz Nowak

Promotion in the city

dariusz.nowak@um.krakow.pl

Legnica

Number of residents: 100 769

Contact

Zienkiewicz Jadwiga

Head of City Adaptation Team

jzienkiewicz@legnica.eu

Mariusz Adynkiewicz-Piragas

Head of Experts’ Team 

Mariusz.Adynkiewicz@imgw.pl

Barbara Garncarz-Wilk

Promotion in the city

Barbara.Garncarz-Wilk@imgw.pl

Lublin

Number of residents: 324 637

Contact

Mirosław Hagemejer

Head of City Adaptation Team

mhagemejer@lublin.eu

Agnieszka Kuśmierz

Head of Experts’ Team 

agnieszka.kusmierz@ios.edu.pl

Promotion in the city

Łódź

Number of residents: 698 688

Contact

Michał Baryła

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.baryla@uml.lodz.pl

Krzysztof Kutek

Head of Experts’Team

krzysztof.kutek@arcadis.com

Marcin Masłowski

Promotion in the city

rzecznikprasowy@uml.lodz.pl

Mysłowice

Number of residents: 74 711

Contact

Tadeusz Nowak

Head of City Adaptation Team

t.nowak_wos@um.myslowice.pl

Marta Fudała

Head of Experts’ Team 

m.fudala@ietu.pl

Beata Sowa

Promotion in the city

b.sowa@um.myslowice.pl

Olsztyn

Number of residents: 173 599

Contact

Zdzisław Zdanowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

zdanowski.zdzislaw@olsztyn.eu

Krzystof Skotak

Head of Experts’ Team 

krzysztof.skotak@ios.edu.pl

Aneta Szpaderska

Promotion in the city

komunikacjaspoleczna@olsztyn.eu

Opole

Number of residents: 127 792

Contact

Monika Czech-Tańczuk

Head of City Adaptation Team

monika.czech@um.opole.pl

Tamara Tokarczyk

Head of Experts’ Team

Tamara.Tokarczyk@imgw.pl

Marcin Krzyżanowski

Promotion in the city

Marcin.Krzyżanowski@imgw.pl

Płock

Number of residents: 121 468

Contact

Piotr Niesłuchowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

piotr.niesluchowski@plock.eu

Anna Jendrasiak

Head of Experts’ Team

anna.jendrasiak@arcadis.com

Edyta Mierzejewska

Promotion in the city

edyta.mierzejewska@plock.eu

Poznań

Number of residents: 541 561

Contact

Piotr Wiśniewski

Head of City Adaptation Team

kp@um.poznan.pl

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Hanna Surma

Promotion in the city

hanna_surma@um.poznan.pl

Radom

Number of residents: 215 653

Contact

Grażyna Krugły

Head of City Adaptation Team

g.krugly@umradom.pl

Piotr Zacharski

Head of Experts’ Team

piotr.zacharski@kobize.pl

Grażyna Krugły

Promotion in the city

g.krugly@umradom.pl

Ruda Śląska

Number of residents: 139 412

Contact

Eugeniusz Malinowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

um_agg@ruda-sl.pl

Janusz Krupanek

Head of Experts’ Team

j.krupanek@ietu.katowice.pl

Tomasz Kulpok

Promotion in the city

media@ruda-sl.pl

Rybnik

Number of residents: 139 540

Contact

Grzegorz Wengerski

Head of City Adaptation Team

gospkom@um.rybnik.pl

Magdalena Golińska

Head of Experts’Team

magdalena.golinska@arcadis.com

Agnieszka Skupień

Promotion in the city

biuroprasowe@um.rybnik.pl

Rzeszów

Number of residents: 187 027

Contact

(leader Małgorzata Wojnowska) contact: Anna Kozicka

Head of City Adaptation Team

akozicka@erzeszow.pl

Iwona Kornaga-Janowska

Head of Experts’Team

iwona.kornaga@arcadis.com

Maciej Chłodnicki

Promotion in the city

mchlodnicki@erzeszow.pl

Siemianowice Śląskie

Number of residents: 68 011

Contact

Agnieszka Gładysz

Head of City Adaptation Team

i_komaniecka@um.siemianowice.pl

Magdalena Głogowska

Head of Experts’ Team

m.glogowska@ietu.pl

Piotr Kochanek

Promotion in the city

p_kochanek@um.siemianowice.pl

Słupsk

Number of residents: 92 170

Contact

Katarzyna Guzewska

Head of City Adaptation Team

k.guzewska@um.slupsk.pl

Monika Mykita

Head of Experts’ Team

monika.mykita@imgw.pl

Iwona Chrapkowska-Wielgomas

Promotion in the city

obywatelski@um.slupsk.pl

Sopot

Number of residents: 37 089

Contact

Elżbieta Turowiecka

Head of City Adaptation Team

Elzbieta.Turowiecka@um.sopot.pl

Ewa Jakusik

Head of Experts’ Team

ewa.jakusik@imgw.pl

Magdalena Czarzyńska-Jachim

Promotion in the city

magdalena.jachim@um.sopot.pl

Sosnowiec

Number of residents: 206 516

Contact

Tomasz Przedpełski

Head of City Adaptation Team

geolog.powiatowy@um.sosnowiec.pl

Joanna Piasecka-Rodak

Head of Experts’ Team

piasecka@ietu.katowice.pl

Rafał Łysy

Promotion in the city

rafal.lysy@um.sosnowiec.pl

Szczecin

Number of residents: 405 413

Contact

Ewa Kurjata

Head of City Adaptation Team

ekurjata@um.szczecin.pl

Albert Malinger

Head of Experts’ Team

albert.malinger@imgw.pl

Małgorzta Wawrzyniak

Promotion in the city

Malgorzata.Wawrzyniak@imgw.pl

Tarnów

Number of residents: 110 381

Contact

Marek Kaczanowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.kaczanowski@umt.tarnow.pl

Ewelina Kozek

Head of Experts’Team

ewelina.kozek@arcadis.com

Daniela Motak

Promotion in the city

d.motak@umt.tarnow.pl

Toruń

Number of residents: 202 591

Contact

Halina Pomianowska

Head of City Adaptation Team

h.pomianowska@um.torun.pl

Anna Jendrasiak

Head of Experts’ Team

anna.jendrasiak@arcadis.com

Anna Kulbicka-Tondel

Promotion in the city

rzecznik@um.torun.pl

Tychy

Number of residents: 128 415

Contact

Anna Warzecha

Head of City Adaptation Team

anna.warzecha@umtychy.pl

Magdalena Golińska

Head of Experts’Team

magdalena.golinska@arcadis.com

Ewa Grudniok

Promotion in the city

rzecznik@umtychy.pl

Wałbrzych

Number of residents: 114 930

Contact

Wiesław Sójka

Head of City Adaptation Team

w.sojka@um.walbrzych.pl

Iwona Zdralewicz

Head of Experts’ Team

Iwona.Zdralewicz@imgw.pl

Barbara Garncarz-Wilk

Promotion in the city

Barbara.Garncarz-Wilk@imgw.pl

Włocławek

Number of residents: 112 635

Contact

Maja Skibińska

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.skibinska@um.wloclawek.pl

Krzysztof Jarmoszewicz

Head of Experts’ Team

krzysztof.jarmoszewicz@arcadis.com

Angelika Żychlewicz

Promotion in the city

azychlewicz@um.wloclawek.pl

Wrocław

Number of residents: 637 075

Contact

 Joanna Kiernicka-Allavena

Head of City Adaptation Team

joanna.kiernicka-allavena@um.wroc.pl

Tamara Tokarczyk

Head of Experts’ Team

Tamara.Tokarczyk@imgw.pl

Marcin Krzyżanowski

Promotion in the city

Marcin.Krzyżanowski@imgw.pl

Zabrze

Number of residents: 175 882

Contact

Jolanta Błaszczak

Head of City Adaptation Team

jblaszczak@um.zabrze.pl

Magdalena Polus

Head of Experts’Team

magdalena.polus@arcadis.com

Sławomir Gruszka

Promotion in the city

sgruszka@um.zabrze.pl

Zielona Góra

Number of residents: 138 898

Contact

Katarzyna Rogowska

Head of City Adaptation Team

k.rogowska@um.zielona-gora.pl

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Monika Wiśniewska

Promotion in the city

m.wisniewska@um.zielona-gora.pl

 

City

Population (in thousand) 

Contractor

Region I

Lublin

341

Instytut Ochrony Środowiska – Państwowy Instytyt Badawczy

Kielce

198

Radom

217

 

Region II

 
Białystok

295

Instytut Ochrony Środowiska – Państwowy Instytyt Badawczy

Olsztyn

173

 

Region III

 
Gdańsk

461

Instytut Meteorologii i Gospodarki Wodnej

Szczecin

407

Gdynia

247

Elbląg

122

Słupsk

95

Sopot

37

Region IV

Bydgoszcz

357

Arcadis

Toruń

203

Płock

122

Włocławek

113

Grudziądz

97

Region V

Wrocław

634

Instytut Meteorologii i Gospodarki Wodnej

Opole

119

Wałbrzych

116

Legnica

101

Region VI

Poznań

565

Instytut Ochrony Środowiska – Państwowy Instytyt Badawczy

Zielona Góra

138

Gorzów Wielkopolski

124

Kalisz

106

Region VII

Łódź

706

Arcadis

Częstochowa

230

Region VIII

Katowice

301

Instytut Ekologii Terenów Uprzemysłowionych

Sosnowiec

209

Bytom

172

Chorzów

110

Ruda Śląska

140

Siemianowice Śląskie

68

Mysłowice

75

Dąbrowa Górnicza

123

Region IX

Gliwice

184

Arcadis

Zabrze

177

Bielsko Biała

173

Rybnik

140

Tychy

123

Jaworzno

93

Czeladź

32

Region X

Kraków

761

Arcadis

Rzeszów

185

Tarnów

111

Accessibility