Development of Urban Adaptation Plans for cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants in Poland

44 Polish cities, in cooperation with the Ministry of the Environment, participate in the project aimed at adapting them to the observed and prognosed climate changes.

Learn more about the project
News

The second round of workshops is on!

Not that long time ago we have finished the first round of…

11 October 2017

Common work pays off – first cycle of workshops is done!

In every workshop there were engaged 2 basic groups of people: experts…

11 September 2017

DEVELOPMENT OF THE URBAN ADAPTATION TO CLIMATE CHANGE PLANS

Today in the Ministry of Environment, in the presence of Paweł Sałek,…

03 April 2017

Polish Government moves to protect its key cities from climate risks

The Polish Government, to head off the worst effects of climate change…

24 January 2017

Cities - project's partners

Choose a city

Białystok

Number of residents: 294 675

Contact

Ewa Kułakowska

Head of City Adaptation Team

ekulakowska@um.bialystok.pl

Krzystof Skotak

Head of Experts’ Team 

krzysztof.skotak@ios.edu.pl

Ewa Kułakowska

Promotion in the city

ekulakowska@um.bialystok.pl

Bielsko-Biała

Number of residents: 172 407

Bydgoszcz

Number of residents: 354 990

Contact

Aleksandra Kowalska

Head of City Adaptation Team

aleksandra.kowalska@um.bydgoszcz.pl

Joanna Walewska

Head of Experts’ Team 

joanna.walewska@arcadis.com

Agnieszka Przybył

Promotion in the city

agnieszka.przybyl@um.bydgoszcz.pl

Bytom

Number of residents: 170 059

Contact

Marek Przepióra

Head of City Adaptation Team

mprzepiora@um.bytom.pl

Joachim Bronder

Head of Experts’ Team 

bron@ietu.katowice.pl

Anna Krzyszkowska-Kuc

Promotion in the city

akrzyszkowska@um.bytom.pl

Chorzów

Number of residents: 109 541

Contact

Leonard Hornik

Head of City Adaptation Team

hornik_l@chorzow.eu

Janina Fudała

Head of Experts’ Team 

jfudala@ietu.katowice.pl

Agata Beryt

Promotion in the city

beryt_a@chorzow.eu

Czeladź

Number of residents: 32 225

Częstochowa

Number of residents: 227 270

Dąbrowa Górnicza

Number of residents: 122 451

Contact

Barbara Lubasz

Head of City Adaptation Team

blubasz@dabrowa-gornicza.pl

Ewa Strzelecka-Jastrząb

Head of Experts’ Team 

strzelec@ietu.katowice.pl

Bartosz Matylewicz

Promotion in the city

bmatylewicz@dabrowa-gornicza.pl

Elbląg

Number of residents: 121 412

Contact

Bożena Jolanta Warzecha

Head of City Adaptation Team

ros@umelblag.pl

Beata Kowalska

Head of Experts’ Team

beata.kowalska@imgw.pl

Beata Kowalska

Promotion in the city

beata.kowalska@imgw.pl

Gdańsk

Number of residents: 462 996

Contact

Marcin Dawidowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

marcin.dawidowski@gdansk.gda.pl

Halina Burakowska

Head of Experts’ Team

halina.burakowska@imgw.pl

Halina Burakowska

Promotion in the city

halina.burakowska@imgw.pl

Gdynia

Number of residents: 247 329

Contact

Bartosz Frankowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

wydz.srodowiska@gdynia.pl

Alicja Kańska

Head of Experts’ Team 

alicja.kanska@imgw.pl

Alicja Kańska

Promotion in the city

alicja.kanska@imgw.pl

Gliwice

Number of residents: 182 969

Gorzów Wielkopolski

Number of residents: 123 911

Contact

Head of City Adaptation Team

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team 

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Promotion in the city

rzecznik.prasowy@um.gorzow.pl

Grudziądz

Number of residents: 96 111

Contact

Maja Banasik

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.banasik@um.grudziadz.pl

Joanna Walewska

Head of Experts’ Team 

joanna.walewska@arcadis.com

Małgorzata Sadowska- Rodziewicz

Promotion in the city

m.rodziewicz@um.grudziadz.pl

Jaworzno

Number of residents: 92 618

Kalisz

Number of residents: 102 575

Contact

Head of City Adaptation Team

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team 

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Promotion in the city

ezmarzla@um.kalisz.pl

Katowice

Number of residents: 299 012

Contact

Barbara Lampart

Head of City Adaptation Team

barbara.lampart@katowice.eu

Piotr Cofałka

Head of Experts’ Team 

p.cofalka@ietu.pl

Ewa Biskupska

Promotion in the city

ewa.biskupska@katowice.eu, p@katowice.eu

Kielce

Number of residents: 197 724

Contact

Adam Rogaliński

Head of City Adaptation Team

adam.rogalinski@um.kielce.pl

Agnieszka Kuśmierz

Head of Experts’ Team 

agnieszka.kusmierz@ios.edu.pl

Agnieszka Krzysiek

Promotion in the city

agnieszka.krzysiek@um.kielce.pl

Kraków

Number of residents: 759 131

Legnica

Number of residents: 100 769

Contact

Zienkiewicz Jadwiga

Head of City Adaptation Team

jzienkiewicz@legnica.eu

Mariusz Adynkiewicz-Piragas

Head of Experts’ Team 

Mariusz.Adynkiewicz@imgw.pl

Barbara Garncarz-Wilk

Promotion in the city

Barbara.Garncarz-Wilk@imgw.pl

Lublin

Number of residents: 324 637

Contact

Mirosław Hagemejer

Head of City Adaptation Team

mhagemejer@lublin.eu

Agnieszka Kuśmierz

Head of Experts’ Team 

agnieszka.kusmierz@ios.edu.pl

Promotion in the city

Łódź

Number of residents: 698 688

Mysłowice

Number of residents: 74 711

Contact

Tadeusz Nowak

Head of City Adaptation Team

t.nowak_wos@um.myslowice.pl

Marta Fudała

Head of Experts’ Team 

m.fudala@ietu.pl

Beata Sowa

Promotion in the city

b.sowa@um.myslowice.pl

Olsztyn

Number of residents: 173 599

Contact

Marek Malinowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

malinowski.marek@olsztyn.eu

Krzystof Skotak

Head of Experts’ Team 

krzysztof.skotak@ios.edu.pl

Marek Malinowski

Promotion in the city

malinowski.marek@olsztyn.eu

Opole

Number of residents: 127 792

Contact

Monika Czech-Tańczuk

Head of City Adaptation Team

monika.czech@um.opole.pl

Tamara Tokarczyk

Head of Experts’ Team

Tamara.Tokarczyk@imgw.pl

Marcin Krzyżanowski

Promotion in the city

Marcin.Krzyżanowski@imgw.pl

Płock

Number of residents: 121 468

Contact

Piotr Niesłuchowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

piotr.niesluchowski@plock.eu

Maria Sobańska

Head of Experts’ Team

maria.sobańska@arcadis.com

Edyta Mierzejewska

Promotion in the city

edyta.mierzejewska@plock.eu

Poznań

Number of residents: 541 561

Contact

Head of City Adaptation Team

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Hanna Surma

Promotion in the city

hanna_surma@um.poznan.pl

Radom

Number of residents: 215 653

Contact

Grażyna Krugły

Head of City Adaptation Team

g.krugly@umradom.pl

Piotr Zacharski

Head of Experts’ Team

piotr.zacharski@kobize.pl

Grażyna Krugły

Promotion in the city

g.krugly@umradom.pl

Ruda Śląska

Number of residents: 139 412

Contact

Eugeniusz Malinowski

Head of City Adaptation Team

um_agg@ruda-sl.pl

Janusz Krupanek

Head of Experts’ Team

j.krupanek@ietu.katowice.pl

Tomasz Kulpok

Promotion in the city

media@ruda-sl.pl

Rybnik

Number of residents: 139 540

Rzeszów

Number of residents: 187 027

Siemianowice Śląskie

Number of residents: 68 011

Contact

Artur Kledzik

Head of City Adaptation Team

a_kledzik@um.siemianowice.pl

Magdalena Głogowska

Head of Experts’ Team

m.glogowska@ietu.pl

Piotr Kochanek

Promotion in the city

p_kochanek@um.siemianowice.pl

Słupsk

Number of residents: 92 170

Contact

Maja Wawrowska

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.wawrowska@um.slupsk.pl

Monika Mykita

Head of Experts’ Team

monika.mykita@imgw.pl

Monika Mykita

Promotion in the city

monika.mykita@imgw.pl

Sopot

Number of residents: 37 089

Contact

Elżbieta Turowiecka

Head of City Adaptation Team

Elzbieta.Turowiecka@um.sopot.pl

Ewa Jakusik

Head of Experts’ Team

ewa.jakusik@imgw.pl

Ewa Jakusik

Promotion in the city

ewa.jakusik@imgw.pl

Sosnowiec

Number of residents: 206 516

Contact

Tomasz Przedpełski

Head of City Adaptation Team

geolog.powiatowy@um.sosnowiec.pl

Joanna Piasecka-Rodak

Head of Experts’ Team

piasecka@ietu.katowice.pl

Rafał Łysy

Promotion in the city

rafal.lysy@um.sosnowiec.pl

Szczecin

Number of residents: 405 413

Contact

Ewa Kurjata

Head of City Adaptation Team

ekurjata@um.szczecin.pl

Albert Malinger

Head of Experts’ Team

albert.malinger@imgw.pl

Małgorzta Wawrzyniak

Promotion in the city

Malgorzata.Wawrzyniak@imgw.pl

Tarnów

Number of residents: 110 381

Toruń

Number of residents: 202 591

Contact

Halina Pomianowska

Head of City Adaptation Team

h.pomianowska@um.torun.pl

Anna Jendrasiak

Head of Experts’ Team

anna.jendrasiak@arcadis.com

Magdalena Kamińska

Promotion in the city

Tychy

Number of residents: 128 415

Wałbrzych

Number of residents: 114 930

Contact

Wiesław Sójka

Head of City Adaptation Team

w.sojka@um.walbrzych.pl

Iwona Zdralewicz

Head of Experts’ Team

Iwona.Zdralewicz@imgw.pl

Barbara Garncarz-Wilk

Promotion in the city

Barbara.Garncarz-Wilk@imgw.pl

Włocławek

Number of residents: 112 635

Contact

Maja Skibińska

Head of City Adaptation Team

m.skibinska@um.wloclawek.pl

Krzysztof Jarmoszewicz

Head of Experts’ Team

krzysztof.jarmoszewicz@arcadis.com

Bartłomiej Kucharczyk

Promotion in the city

bkucharczyk@um.wloclawek.pl

Wrocław

Number of residents: 637 075

Contact

 Joanna Kiernicka-Allavena

Head of City Adaptation Team

joanna.kiernicka-allavena@um.wroc.pl

Tamara Tokarczyk

Head of Experts’ Team

Tamara.Tokarczyk@imgw.pl

Marcin Krzyżanowski

Promotion in the city

Marcin.Krzyżanowski@imgw.pl

Zabrze

Number of residents: 175 882

Zielona Góra

Number of residents: 138 898

Contact

Head of City Adaptation Team

Zdzisław Cichocki

Head of Experts’ Team

zdzislawcichocki@wp.pl

Promotion in the city

UrzadMiasta@um.zielona-gora.pl

Project schedule

1step

Process start

team creation,
assumption development,
stakeholder identification

2step

Susceptibility assessment

data collection,
determination of region
adaptability

3step

Risk analysis

definition of prospective
opportunities and hazards,
attaching significance to hazards

4step

Adaptation option development

indication of detailed
objectives and priority areas
for MPA

5step

Option evaluation and selection

analysis of adaptation options,
evaluation methods and
adaptation option evaluation

6step

Document preparation

development of the final MPA
version, strategic environmental
impact assessment (SOOŚ)

PLAN IMPLEMENTATION

Accessibility